If you sustain an injury due to an accident during the course of your employment, workers’ compensation can help you pay your bills and get the treatment you need. As an employee, you are entitled to claim these benefits if you are hurt on the job. The length of time you get to receive workers’ compensation benefits in the state of Maryland depends on the severity of the injury, and the length of your recovery.
If you sustain an injury that takes, say, six weeks to fully heal, you can collect workers’ compensation for the six weeks you are out of work.
Many injuries, however, can take much longer to heal, and some will have permanent effects. In these cases, when you have reached maximum medical improvement (MMI) – the point at which no further amount of treatment can help you improve– then your cases will be assessed, and the doctor will determine the level of disability you have. Based on that, you could be awarded additional benefits based on the body part which is injured. These benefits are called permanent partial disability.
For example, if you lose a thumb during the course of your employment, you could receive up to 100 weeks’ worth of workers’ compensation; loss of an eye is up to 250 weeks. However, you can actually return to work and still receive these benefits.
If your loved one died as a result of his or her injuries, you and your family are eligible to continue receiving benefits arising from his or her workers’ compensation. The children of a deceased worker who was receiving workers’ compensation at the time of his or her death are also eligible to receive these payments – specifically, those age 18 or younger or age 23 or younger if they are attending school full-time.
How quickly will workers’ compensation benefits kick in?
Filing your claim on time is essential to ensure you receive the benefits you are owed. Ideally, you should file for workers’ compensation soon after you are injured, so that you can start receiving your benefits as soon as possible.
When are injuries covered under workers’ compensation in Maryland?
Not every injury sustained at work qualifies a worker to receive this compensation. The injury must have occurred during the course of your employment, and cannot be the result of your own misconduct (i.e., being impaired by drugs and alcohol on the job). Occupational diseases are included in the injuries that qualify for workers’ comp, but the injured worker must prove his or her disease was acquired as a result of working.
Independent contractors (workers who are not employees) may not apply and receive workers’ compensation when injured on the job unless you have purchased your own coverage. In some cases, employees who are entitled to workers’ compensation may also wish to file a personal injury lawsuit. An experienced Maryland workers’ compensation attorney can make the process of filing a claim as smooth and uneventful as possible. He or she can sort out any questions you may have about whether you qualify for these benefits and whether there is a viable personal injury case to pursue.
If you have sustained an injury on the job or are facing challenges obtaining the benefits you are owed, our Maryland workers’ compensation attorneys at Plaxen Adler Muncy, P.A. are here to fight for you. With more than three decades of experience, we are the advocates you need to ensure you are properly covered under the law for your workplace injuries. To set up a free consultation, give us a call today at 410-730-7737 or complete our contact form.