Bruce Plaxen Has Been Elected Secretary of the American Association for Justice

Attorney Bruce Plaxen

Plaxen Adler Muncy, P.A. is proud to announce that Bruce Plaxen has been elected Secretary of the American Association for Justice (AAJ) for 2022-2023. For the last 20 years, he has served on AAJ’s Board of Governors. He is a former AAJ Parliamentarian (2020-2021) and Treasurer (2021-2022) – the first Maryland trial attorney to hold either of these positions. This year, he becomes the first Maryland attorney to be Secretary of AAJ.

This year’s convention and subsequent election was held in Seattle; it was the first time the group has met in person in the last two years. The energy was palpable as members attended CLE courses and committee meetings. There were inspiring speeches by leadership and politicians, and chances for new members to meet the Leadership and learn what AAJ is all about.

Bruce Plaxen presented an important award to his well-deserving friend and AAJ Past President, Ken Suggs. He was nominated for the office of AAJ Secretary by another good friend and AAJ Past President, Bruce Stern. From his acceptance speech after being elected Secretary:

“Extremism in the defense of liberty is no vice and moderation in the pursuit of justice is no virtue.” I ask of each of us to pursue justice with vigor. To my friends in the Maryland Association for Justice, Inc., please join AAJ and help us level the playing field for our clients. To my AAJ members, please devote yourself to the cause of justice. To my non lawyer friends, pursue justice in all forms. I’m proud to serve with my fellow officers. Congratulations to Tad Thomas on becoming President of AAJ. To all of you I pledge you will always receive my best effort.

The rest of this year’s Leadership includes Sean Domnick (President-Elect), Lori E. Andrus (Vice President), N. John Bey (Treasurer) and Marion Munley (Parliamentarian).

About Bruce Plaxen’s work for, and commitment to, AAJ

Along with his Executive Officer positions, Bruce Plaxen has been a member of AAJ’s Board of Governors and Executive Committee since 2003, and has served in leadership positions:

  • Executive Committee 2003-2004, 2006-2010, 2012-2014, 2015-present
  • National Finance Committee Member, 2005-present
  • Leaders Forum Member, 2007-present
  • AAJ PAC Taskforce, 2010-present
  • AAJ PAC Trustee, 2010-present
  • AAJ Organizational Review Committee (ORC) Member, 2004-2021
    • Chair, 2013-2020
  • AAJ Retirement Committee Chair, 2019-2020
  • Justice 2020 Annual Fundraiser Co-Chair, 2019
  • Maggie Hassan Fundraising Event Chair, 2016
  • Justice 2016 Annual Fundraiser Co-Chair, 2015
  • AAJ Convention Planning Committee Member, 2002-2013
    • Chair, 2007–2013
  • AAJ Council of Presidents Member 2000-2003
    • AAJ Council of Presidents President-Elect 2002-2003
    • AAJ Council of Presidents President 2003-2004

He is a four-time recipient of the Wiedemann Wysocki Citation of Excellence for his efforts on behalf of civil justice throughout the United States (2003, 2010, 2016, and 2020) and was awarded AAJ’s Above & Beyond award in 2019, which “recognizes AAJ members who have made exceptional contributions to sustain and strengthen the organization.” He was awarded the AAJ Distinguished Service Award in 2017. Bruce Plaxen is an annual contributor to the AAJ Evergreen Fund and AAJ PAC and earned the designation PAC Eagle for his fundraising efforts on behalf of AAJ.

About the work of the American Association for Justice

The American Association for Justice “promotes justice and fairness for injured persons, safeguards victims' rights—particularly the right to trial by jury—and strengthens the civil justice system through education and disclosure of information critical to public health and safety.” The justice system – especially the civil justice system – has been under attack for years. We see the rolling back of rights every day, which is why AAJ’s work is so critical to ensuring a robust and healthy justice system.

This year, AAJ succeeded in putting an end to forced arbitration in matters involving sexual assault and harassment. On March 3, 2022, President Biden signed the Ending Forced Arbitration of Sexual Assault and Sexual Harassment Act of 2021 into law. The Act “invalidates arbitration agreements that preclude a party from filing a lawsuit in court involving sexual assault or sexual harassment, at the election of the party alleging such conduct.” It took the bravery of survivors willing to come forward and testify to Congress, and decades of work by AAJ (led by Linda Lipsen of AAJ’s Public Affairs team for many years) for this work to come to fruition – and it has only energized its members.

All of us at Plaxen Adler Muncy, P.A. would like to congratulate Bruce Plaxen on being elected Secretary of the American Association for Justice. We know he will continue the good work of AAJ.